top of page

InstaReview: How Not to Drown in a Glass of Water by Angie Cruz



"Do better. What kind of expression is that? ...I work more than every other person I know. I do best. More best than best."

For fans of Dominicana, Angie Cruz has released her newest book- How Not to Drown in a Glass of Water. This fun and unique novel presents as a transcription of the main character's (Cara) accidental confessional to a job counselor employed by the government. Through this confessional, and some additional "documentation" throughout the novel, we learn about Cara's struggles- including that of her job (or lack thereof), housing, living in the U.S. as an immigrant, family problems and unofficial labor she has taken on. Through these scheduled sessions with the job counselor, Cara's inner demons are slowly revealed. However, what we liked most about this book was the voice- despite what may appear to be depressing subject matters, Cara's humor and manner-of-fact tone propel you through the novel and keep you chuckling. We give this 4.5 stars!

Comments


bottom of page